1. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

UFC didn't consider that punch a KD.

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by ijngf, Feb 8, 2020.

  1. ijngf Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2,402
    Likes Received:
    499
  2. Merlotte's Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    16,438
    Likes Received:
    7,092
    Location:
    Clap shack
    Was clearly a slip
     
  3. Final Say So Icey Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    22,299
    Likes Received:
    3,946
    I didn’t either. Jones was off balance and got punched in the chest. It wasn’t damage from a punch that dropped him

    still thought Reyes won
     
  4. ijngf Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2,402
    Likes Received:
    499
    They thought it was just a regular strike to the body.
     
  5. MeatWagon06 Biting on feints

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    5,289
    Location:
    GSMNP
    He got punched in the body while slipping. Why would that be a knockdown??
     
  6. ZOD66 Brown Belt

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4,423
    Likes Received:
    638
    Location:
    Europa BiH R.Srpska and Brcko District
    Jones won, if Reyes did not gas out he could won but...
     
  7. Harmonica Strong, silent type

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    845
    Well, to be honest - it wasn't.

    Reyes won, but still... we should be fair.
     
  8. ijngf Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2,402
    Likes Received:
    499
    I don't think he was off balance.
     
  9. BetoG695 Green Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    414
    only 2 TDs?
     
  10. Gamer007 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    5,856
    Likes Received:
    4,474
    Location:
    Texas
  11. Merlotte's Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    16,438
    Likes Received:
    7,092
    Location:
    Clap shack
    The canvas can be slippery after a full night of fights. Slips are common.
     
  12. ijngf Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2,402
    Likes Received:
    499
    The canvas can also be not slippery. It has to be proved.
     
  13. Final Say So Icey Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    22,299
    Likes Received:
    3,946
    Even if the force of the punch ‘pushed’ him over, I don’t consider that a KD. It’s not like boxing. I think actual damage has to cause you to fall in this sport, and that kind of makes sense to me

    Hell khabib isn’t even credited for knocking down Conor and that was a solid overhand to the dome
     
  14. Merlotte's Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    16,438
    Likes Received:
    7,092
    Location:
    Clap shack
    Like with thermal imagery?
     
  15. ijngf Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2,402
    Likes Received:
    499
    By contrast, I think Jones did win if I have to use the same standard as judges of the past fights did. But I consider it a knockdown.
     
  16. ZOD66 Brown Belt

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4,423
    Likes Received:
    638
    Location:
    Europa BiH R.Srpska and Brcko District
    Maybe he watch Conor too much. It would be better he running more
     
  17. NuMe Green Belt

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CRO
    And some scum on Sherdog gave round 2 to Jones.

    Lol.
     
  18. scottjoebob Green Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,160
    Likes Received:
    355
    If no one punched him would he still fall down , If not , its a KD .
     
  19. Substance Abuse n00b moderator Staff Member Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    110,275
    Likes Received:
    43,003
    Location:
    Constellation Funk.
    It isn't and wasn't.
     
  20. boladiQup Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    4
    he punched him in the chest while he was on 1 leg.

    in kickboxing they don't call it a knockdown if you push kick someone in the chest and they go flying to the ground so this probably shouldn't count either.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.