Turning the corner...(longer read)

daninnashville

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'd like to get some advice from other grapplers out there about something bugging me. I went to my first no gi competition yesterday and got tooled in the first match. It was my fourth tournament overall and to be frank I'm feeling somewhat discouraged.

I've been training seriously for about nine months. I'm a three stripe white belt. Basically I just feel like I really underperform in the tournament setting and rather than be negative I want to turn this into a positive. I train hard for each competition but I still continue to lose. On average I'm attending at least four classes a week and doing a lot of outside conditioning.

I got into a bad position yesterday and realized I don't know a lot of half guard sweeps. So...clearly there are parts of my game I can tighten and improve. I'm eager to get better in every training session. But I feel like I'm getting dominated and it's certainly hurting my confidence some. In the gym I'm not the worst and I'm not the best. I feel like I'm a little towards the bottom due to inexperience but am getting better. We have fantastic partners and great teachers too. I can hold my own rolling with guys in my size range (5'9" and 195). I'm strong but wanting to drop some weight to be faster.

My coach says that at some point it will click and that he is really proud of me for going out there and testing myself in competition. I trust him and respect his opinion.
I still can't help but feeling a bit frustrated.

My questions...

1) When you are coming off a loss...what adjustments do you make mentally and in your training?

2) Is it normal to get dominnated in the first few tournaments as a beginner?

3) Do any of you come up with a specific training schedule to address weaker parts of your game?

4) How do you use your losses as a healthy motivation to get better?

I appreciate any feedback!
Dan