Training Bjj as a Judo Guy

neandtachiwaza

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am a Judo Black Belt and I have been wanting to train BJJ for at least a couple of years now. I am having a real internal struggle with the decision on whether to train BJJ or not. I have tried out a few BJJ schools, and found one that I would really like to train at. I really like the ground focus, and the attention to technique as opposed to explosivness on the ground. I really think that this would really help my ground game, as I find myself to be not up to par on the ground. I am a full time college student, and already train Judo 3-4 times a week. I have adjusted my school schedule so that I can also fit in 3-4 days a week of BJJ. Many people that I train with have a negative attitude towards anything that is related to BJJ, and I am wondering if this would cause some kind of backlash between me and the Judoka who Iv'e trained with for so many years. Any advise or experience with training two martial arts at once would be great.

I think it's a good idea. Maybe some Judo guys are negative about BJJ but I haven't really found the converse to be the case. BJJ guys seem to think that Judo is cool. You might have guys in BJJ class asking you to teach them throws when they find out you're a Judo black belt.

If you're worried about your Judo friends not liking you anymore because you started doing BJJ, well... are they really your friends if they do that?

This won't help you at all but I understand the struggle of being a student, training, and working.

I think it's a good idea. Maybe some Judo guys are negative about BJJ but I haven't really found the converse to be the case. BJJ guys seem to think that Judo is cool. You might have guys in BJJ class asking you to teach them throws when they find out you're a Judo black belt.

If you're worried about your Judo friends not liking you anymore because you started doing BJJ, well... are they really your friends if they do that?