Training again after a long break: Restart from scratch or pick up where I left off?

Marvin Covar

Amateur Fighter
@Brown
Reaction score
It's been close to a year since I last trained. I've been training for about 3 years prior to this and got burned out, became "carefree" and gained a few pounds.

Now, fast forward to about a month before Christmas, I started Bas' MMA Workout (the Thai Boxing cd's) up until now and rekindled the fire. I'm afraid that I might have picked up a few bad habits on my own so should I start from scratch or pick up where I left off?

I would start from scratch man you gotta get back into the shape you were before the lay-off IMO

Oh, and a side note, I'm not going back to training without a single shred of exercise. I used Bas's workout to get myself closer to the conditioning required for Muay Thai, but I already know my cardio will suck. lol So should I relearn the techniques from step 1, etc. or jump right in and go do pads, bag training and maybe a little sparring?

Are you planning to go to a gym? If so why dont you just go and see how you do. Depending on how much you knew it might be you just need to get your "ringrust" off.

im in the same boat as you, but first i need to get in shape before i start again.

It's been close to a year since I last trained. I've been training for about 3 years prior to this and got burned out, became "carefree" and gained a few pounds.

Now, fast forward to about a month before Christmas, I started Bas' MMA Workout (the Thai Boxing cd's) up until now and rekindled the fire. I'm afraid that I might have picked up a few bad habits on my own so should I start from scratch or pick up where I left off?

You train MT at Philippines right? What gym/chapter? Can i borrow your Bas' MMA CD?:D hahaha

you cant start from where you where but you dont need to go back to scratch take it easy at first and your technique will return