1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Tough time choosing two arts

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by jrock89, Oct 12, 2010.

1. jrock89

jrock89 Orange Belt

I am faced with a dilemma. There are basically only 2 legit striking gyms near my area.

So I go to a BJJ gym where they teach MT as well and I have been doing MT for around 8 months. Its ok, our instructor gives us tips and help here and there, but I feel his class is more conditioning and getting in shape oriented. So one day I felt like trying out this boxing gym where my friend trains. At the boxing gym I feel as if there was more help and I was getting better at being more technical.

So my point is, I'm hoping to do MMA in the near future and I know that I have to learn kicks and that aspect of the fight game, but I feel like my striking will improve more at the boxing gym. But I know if I join the boxing gym, my kicks, elbows and checking skills will start to fade away. What do you think is the best gym to join? I don't know what to do :icon_cry2

Last edited: Oct 12, 2010
  2. Lionidas

Lionidas Brown Belt

With those 2 options, I'd go with Boxing. The MT class sounds like a mcdojo for moms to stay in shape.

If the class is primarily cardio then you probably won't learn much.
    btw, post links if possible to help us get a better idea.

3. chaospfa

chaospfa Blue Belt

Do boxing, MMA striking consists of boxing and leg kicks (I know this is an over simplification). I did boxing for 2 years and those skills helped me the most in combat sports.

4. Snubnoze707

Snubnoze707 High Level

Better to have good Boxing training than shitty Muay Thai training...

5. Gooch Monster***

Gooch Monster*** Blue Belt

do both, get a bag to train on at home too, you'll develop good kicks.

6. Godhand13

Godhand13 White Belt

Tasmania, Australia. It's the little island at the