Top King gear review Empower gloves + Pro shin guards

tazojla

White Belt
Reaction score
So, I've owned these two for just over 5 months now, training for 2/3 times a week. I'm no expert Muay Thai pro I only started 6 months ago. I'll start by saying that I don't really take any particular care with these, I only wipe them down with a disinfectant wipe after use to stop them smelling bad, it's fair to say that they get a fair amount of abuse also I'm not sponsored by anyone, it's a full honest review.

I have the Top King empower gloves (non-air) and the Top King Pro shin guards, I chose not to get the Empower shin guards as they looked a bit too flashy and I preferred the look of the plain black Pro.

Quality (Gloves):
IMG_6941.jpg

Astounding, every stitch is spot on, the materials feel incredibly high quality and I'm yet to break anything on them. Probably the only thing I've noticed is that the graphic is flaking a little bit in one area however this was due to me leaving them outside in direct sunlight to kill bacteria and freshen them up a bit, however if you try to rub it then the graphic won't peel.
IMG_6943.jpg

Overall I'm very happy with the quality of the gloves.

Fit (Gloves)
IMG_6947.jpg

The gloves have a snug fit and I have average sized hands, this includes wearing wraps. I like the fit as it's not very loose so it feels like it is really protecting your hands. The wrist support is excellent, I used Twins gloves in the gym and after using TKB gloves I'd never use them again, you can barely move your wrist backwards and can move it in a little. I wouldn't recommend it for grappling/clinching though.

Advice