TMA gets defensive

physicaltherapy

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I was at a local festival this weekend and they had a McDojo demonstration of a Silat style fo martial art. These guys were doing all sorts of Katas and stuff. After the demo, I spoke to some guy who was the head instructor. He was really trying to sell the art and get me to join. So in passing, I mention to this guy that I've been training BJJ for the past 2 1/2 years, I mean really casual. I swear I wasn't bragging about my art. IMMEDIATELY, this guy's tone changes. HE GETS REALLY DEFENSIVE:

"This art isn't grappling....it's fighting."
"We do a lot of ground work too."
"This isn't a sport it's true fighting."
(Now this was really insulting. But I let the guy talk.) "We don't always go to the ground. We assume there's more than one opponent."
"We HAVE adapted this style to sport and my instructor had 31 knockouts" (This comment almost made me laugh. Sadly, I neglected to ask who his instrcutor has knocked out....maybe Fedor.)

Now I don't mean this thread to be a slight on silat martial arts. I truly appreciate knife and stick fighting. But has anyone here had a similar experience? Mentioning BJJ or MMA to a TMA and have them get REALLY defensive.

Notice that folks only get defensive when they feel inadaquate, like they have to prove something...

Yeah, I get the same thing. Usually they attack the sport aspect of BJJ. I just nod mostly. If you let them talk long enough they usually back themselves into a corner.

The Sickness said:
Notice that folks only get defensive when they feel inadaquate, like they have to prove something...
Yup. As soon as he realised he wasnt dealing with some impressionable n00b that wouldnt buy his BS he started backpedalling.

I normally just nod & smile, say "thanks" and leave.