Tips for a competing white belt

Pontigoose

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Hey guys! So I've been training Jiu jitsu for a few months, and I am completely consumed. In the next few months I am going to compete just to see how I will fair against other people around my level. I'm not expecting to win as I am still a lower level white belt, but I'm just curious to hear what you experienced grapplers would consider effective moves/techniques to train to use in a white belt tournament. My coach tells me just to train everything, and get good at two guard passes, and being able to advance positions. Any and all input is appreciated.
Thanks!

For your first tournament, basically forget about going out there and submitting your opponent. You will hit a huge adrenaline dump.

Focus on scoring position, maintain control, and BREATHING. Even if you are in phenomenal shape in the gym/sparring, you will be winded and feel like your mouth is full of cotton balls within the first 20 seconds of your match, just be ready for that. Pace yourself, and remain calm and clear-minded (much easier said than done! Being in your first tournament is like being a sock in the laundry, you won't even remember or know what just happened).

Oh, and time WILL seem to go by either REALLY fast during the match, or agonizingly slow. Other than that, try learn as much as you can.

PS) Where ya from in BC man, are you going to the CBJJF Winter Classic to compete in Feb?

develop a game plan, even if it's just pull guard, sweep (pick a specific sweep), pass (specific pass), to submission.

i wouldn't say one sweep is better than the other, or one takedown is better than the other, just focus on getting better at what you already know.

but yeah, have a gameplan going in.

I would say just go out and have fun for your first competition