Tight hamstrings, lower back pain

Respeezy

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Hi just posting to see if someone might recognize my problem and has a solution or good advise.

My hamstrings are pretty tight, i have a bit of lordosis and had/ have a small hernia in my lower back. Since i started lifting everything has been pretty stable and as long as i dont play too much closed guard my lower back is usually fine.

Now i started a new stretching regimen and think i would benefit a lot from also stretching my hamstrings, but everytime i do, my lower back gets inflamed.( not immediatly, but i will have some pain in the days following up the stretches).

Now i started a new stretching regimen and think i would benefit a lot from also stretching my hamstrings, but everytime i do, my lower back gets inflamed.( not immediatly, but i will have some pain in the days following up the stretches).

Google "Anterior Pelvic Tilt" and read around. Could be your hamstrings are already stretched out and it doesn't make much sense stretching them as compared to your hamstrings, hip flexors, and lower back.

Neanaderthal No More on T-Nation is/was a popular series in fixing postural problems including APT. Others could probably point you in a better direction than I can.

I have APT and haven't had much success in "fixing" it, but through stretching of my hips, lower back, and thoracic spine the amount of stiffness in my back has reduced tremendously.

Google "Anterior Pelvic Tilt" and read around. Could be your hamstrings are already stretched out and it doesn't make much sense stretching them as compared to your hamstrings, hip flexors, and lower back.

Neanaderthal No More on T-Nation is/was a popular series in fixing postural problems including APT. Others could probably point you in a better direction than I can.