Thinking about leaving my gym

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by ava122, Feb 18, 2016.

1. ava122

ava122 White Belt

Hey everyone.

I've been training at a gym for a couple of years and am thinking about leaving. In the last year we've lost 2 instructors. One left, another joined and took over the class and then left a few months later. Pretty much we only have 2 BJJ classes a week and the instructor would run those. A student took over for one of the classes but he was random with showing up and also with what he taught and has since disappeared.
    The school does have another gym about an 1+ hour away with some purple belts and some people who train but due to its location I can't get there.

The guy who owns the school has taken over for one of the classes teaching however I've found the classes aren't planned, he jumps all around the place in terms of teaching and we pretty much breeze over some technique and the majority of the class is spent on warming up and having a roll. The other day he showed me a technique which he wasn't even that sure of how to do, ran through it twice with me then went off to help the other guys while I sat there. He then forgot the syllabus then had to ask me to fill in the blanks and showed what he'd forgotten. Pretty much we may get 5-6 people max come to the class. Other times it's 2-3.