1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Thing you have the most trouble with?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by FangedMoon, Sep 25, 2010.

1. FangedMoon

FangedMoon White Belt

Hey guys, I'm a newbie to jiujitsu, only been doing it for about 4 or 5 months. However I have fallen inlove with the ground aspect of martial arts. This may be due to my inexperience, or it may be due to me being the smallest guy in class ( I way 145, the guy closest to me ways 180 and the heaviest guy we have is 283) but I have a rough time wth my sweeps from guard.

So my question is starting out what did you have most trouble with, and what do you have the most trouble with now? Just looking to hear the veterans stories of when they started out (and anyone is a veteran to a 4 monther) :icon_chee and what is everyones biggest trouble with now?

2. randomg1t

randomg1t EVERYTIME CHAMPION

i'm about your size and sweeps from full guard are probably still quite a huge hole in my game.

but because i've had those issues all along i think i developed my halfguard much better. i spend most of my time there and get all my sweeps from hg.

another thing i just can't get really good at is not getting thrown around by the 220+ monsters when i get sidecontrol on them. it's like, they pull me close and hold me tight so i can barely move, and when i press on their face to get some space and move to mount they explode and push me off so far they have all the space in the world they need to reguard or just bully me to my back. annoying.

3. PervertHyena

PervertHyena Yellow Belt

motivation

4. SMillard

SMillard Red Belt

stupid nagging injuries.

5. Jumpy

Jumpy Invincible

i just started two weeks ago pretty much

lapel chokes were giving me some trouble: opening up the gi to feed my other hand in under the neck feels unnatural, and i wanna pull opposite :/

6. CyberFreq

CyberFreq Blue Belt