The ultimate weight lifting tattoo?

grail25

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
From http://carlzimmer.typepad.com/sciencetattoo/

testosterone_2.jpg

Attached is my tattoo of the 17β-hydroxyandrost-4-en-3-one molecule a.k.a testosterone. I got it a couple of years ago after many years of thinking about getting it. I have a degree in biotechnology and am currently undertaking honours in molecular biology. I am studying the effects of glucocorticoids on fetal lung development.

The tat has to do with my love of lifting heavy weights and the most important molecule for that is testosterone. People can take all the synthetic testosterones and steroid derivatives they want but nothing feels better than knowing after a heavy lift that all you used was that which your testes produced.

I also like to look at it and draw inspiration or just contemplate. I contemplate on what it is to be a man and what it means to be masculine and that it's about strength of character and not just being strong. The best thing about it is that it's unique and brings a smile when I tell people what it is - crazy scientists!

thought you guys might like it

Nice idea, poor execution.

It looks like he had it done in prison.

[insert Saint Wilhelm's shield tattoo design]

Bullshit that's a tattoo, it looks like he just drew it on with a pen. If it is real, it better have cost $3.

Gay, totally gay, Liberace Gay.

Why not tattoo "I love men" on your arm. Besides which it looks like I could have drawn it on with a biro and done a better job.

HA! That's actually an estrogen molecule. Jokes on this guy!

LOL!

that would be like the guys who get chinese symbol thinking it means "I'm a bad ass" to finally fing he's got "I love men" tattoed on is biceps.

Definitely looks like it was drawn with a ball point pen.

Lol, If hes a biotech and molecular biology student, he would need a refund on his education :)

expand_molecule_estro.gif

estrogen

expand_molecule_testo.gif

testosterone