1. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

The reason Yan knee'd Aljo

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by what-wut, Mar 8, 2021.

  1. what-wut Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    91
    When I was watching the fight LIVE I saw the referee say outloud that Aljo was grounded THE MOMENT he placed his hand on the ground.

    because of that I thought that his hand was what keeping him grounded and once Aljo didn't have his hand there I thought it was yan's chance to blast him in the face.

    I'm fairly certain the same thing was going through yan's head. It was kinda poor timing from the ref.
     
    Perry Willits and stinkynecklace like this.
  2. rear naked ankle pick not very good poster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    3,280
    Everyone knows Yan didn't do it on purpose which means he thought aljo wasn't grounded
     
  3. Kid Quick Street Belt Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Location:
    Kentucky
    You are responsible for your weapons. Yan has no excuse.
     
    BigTruck, KoreanZawmbie and HockeyBjj like this.
  4. Kid Quick Street Belt Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Bouts have ended from nutshots, same thing.
     
  5. Fukkup Freelance Underwear Model

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Ireland
    Who is denying that?
     
  6. BigBadBruins Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,131
    Likes Received:
    843
    I think you are right. During the fight when Aljo lifted his hand off the mat even I was semi confused if that meant he was no longer grounded or not, then..... boom
     
    mikesparrow, what-wut, Ornife and 2 others like this.
  7. pride_rules Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,465
    Likes Received:
    673
    Location:
    illinois
    i think you guys are mistaken.
    aljo has developed jedi mind tricks. he mentally told jan to foul him for the dq.

    imo this makes aljo even more next level #goat
     
  8. Volador Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    11,495
    If you look at the replay, while the fight is stopped and Aljo is rolling around Yan is making a gesture to his corner moving both of his hands with his palms down like saying "I though his hands were off the mat", which they were, but his knee obviously wasn't. He messed up though, as it's a really basic rule that he should know about.
     
  9. Fess Green Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    beyond the Hell
    Yan actually confirmed it in his post-fight interview (and I opened a thread about it as well).
    He said that a referee before the fight explained him the rules, and when he mentioned grounded opponent rules, he only spoke about the position of hands on the mat, because of that Yan looked at Sterling's hands position, and when the hands weren't on the ground, he hit him.
     
    SuperLuigi and ssBaldy like this.
  10. Zaar Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    155
    1) Yan didn't mean it
    2) It was an illegal blow
    3) Sterling wasn't hurt
    4) It was still an illegal blow, thus DQ decision is fine
    5) Unlucky circumstances, run it again, problem solved.
     
    Vulcho, Jarilo, Volador and 1 other person like this.
  11. Raymundo Alvarado Guevara Blue Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2020
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    493
    They are going to run again the fight, and Yan is going to regain the title
    #Andnew
     
  12. datfnguy Black Belt

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,445
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Toronto
    Naw man. There has never been a time that a fighter on his back, belly, ass or knees was considered down. The 3 points of contact was added later allowing fighters to put a hand down to avoid kicks and knees.
     
  13. whileswimming.idrink Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    257
    I heard Sterling had called out Cejudo
     
  14. BananaManPoo Here come the boners

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    I know it's the rules and all, but I'm surprised that nobody has talked about how Aljo exploited that rule, by going down on his knees. Once he was grabbed, he instantly took a knee to avoid any knee strikes. It's the rules and all, but at the same time, it's kind of a loophole to avoid taking damage in a certain way. Aljo knew what he was doing and should know about the risk that his opponent might not have caught on that he quickly downed himself, for the sake of eliminating a type of strike.

    This really reminded me of the Weidman v Mousasi fight, where Weidman took a knee when they tied up, only to not be fully planted, resulting in a clinched knee to the face. Weidman tried to play it off like a foul but the tape should it was legal, giving him a DQ loss instead of a DQ win. He tried to game the system then and it blew up in his face. This new case with Aljo feels similar, and it's ironic that they belong to the say camp. Of course, that detail doesn't necessarily mean anything.
     
  15. Joseph_McBride Red Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    9,725
    Likes Received:
    4,084
    We all know Yan did it because Aljo is black & Yan knew his white privilege would allow him to escape without consequences.
     
  16. Dirge Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14,923
    Likes Received:
    4,425
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Everyone except for a handful of idiots on here that spent this weekend bitching that he threw away his title in a fight he was winning just so he could land an illegal knee.

    That tard who was talking about how "dishonorable" Yan was cracked me up
     
    Staph infection likes this.
  17. what-wut Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    91
    He said the word grounded very loudly as soon as hands went down. Very bad timing from the ref in my opinion.
     
  18. Fluffernutter Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    16,973
    Likes Received:
    4,601
    He was caught up in the moment.

    It happens

    Rematch this summer.
     
  19. kflo Titanium Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    40,414
    Likes Received:
    3,715
    3 and 4 can't both be true.....
     
  20. Zaar Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    155
    By that logic if there's no crash, you can go through the red light.

    Are you telling me that's the exact ruling in UFC? (I can accept it, I'm honestly asking cause that would be fucked up)
     
    SuperLuigi likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.