The Official "How to adapt Judo to no gi" Thread

Matt Thornton

Amateur Fighter
Reaction score
I know there have been some threads about Judo in the past, specifically about how to modify some of the throws. But I thought it would be cool to have a thread where people post what they've found works for them. Until Gokor and Gene LeBell show us some more of that stuff they're showing over at Hayastan (besides the Karo DVD), there are still some things to figure out.

I've never done Judo before, but after wrestling season, I'm definitely hoping to cross train in it. I don't plan on walking in and asking them to just show me stuff with no gi; I am going to learn it with gi. But as I go along I'd like to try to figure out how to adapt some of it (I know though you need to be a really good Judoka to do this).

Alright, so I really know nothing. I won't pretend that I do. But I'll post the small amount that I've seen. Correct me if I'm wrong, and please add what you've done or seen.

THE JUDO TIE UP
This one seems tough. In wrestling, I see guys tie up with either over/under hooks, or a collar tie. But in Judo, I see guys stand straight up, and grip each other's sleeves. This is tough to adapt for no gi (sweat and no sleeves), and even tougher for MMA (sweat and punches). But the other night, a guy at my gym who did Judo for a while was doing some Judo techniques that are used off of a Judo tie-up. I immediately asked him how he was doing it. He showed me, and I think I've seen this in wrestling, too.

Overhook his arms. But, to prevent him from bodylocking you, bring your hands together, make fists, and bring them under his arms and post them on his chest. This traps his arms, and your fists are preventing him from getting in close to body lock you. For no gi, this is great. You can try to work for moves like Ashigaru, Kosote Gake... I haven't tried it, but I've seen it done, and it just might allow you to work some of those awesome Judo foot sweeps.

O GOSHI