Thales Leites.

Macalpinerules

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Somebody give me a breakdown of Thales Leites. What should I expect from him moving forward? Is he a contender? I remember seeing him many years ago against Anderson but that's it. I don't really know how he's progressed in the years since. So someone who is knowledgeable about Leites pls fill me in on where he currently stands.

I'm not a Leites expert, but he seems to have added some sharp striking to his lethal BJJ arsenal so while he may not challenge for the title again, he's no joke and a game opponent for just about anyone.

Leites is a no-win situation for most guys. His name is kinda a joke, so he wont bring much credibility with a win over him. On the flip side, he is a very dangerous fighter, especially on the ground.

Leites is a no-win situation for most guys. His name is kinda a joke, so he wont bring much credibility with a win over him. On the flip side, he is a very dangerous fighter, especially on the ground.

I don't buy that argument at all, his name is no more a joke than Demian Maia.

wouldnt say hes a title contender, but hes covered his holes well since returning to UFC

He KO'd Carmont, who was 29-28'd by Jacare, so he's clearly improved. The Boetsch fight is kind of a no-win situation, since Boetsch is prone to being outclassed, but always has the chance of getting the lucky KO. Leites winning easily won't necessary show us anything we don't already know, but he could get KO'd.

Watch the fights?

Not trying to be smart-ass, but that's really best option.

Anyway, from what I know, it seems that since losing to Matt Horwich he really decided to get his shit together.

Looked very good and well rounded since.