Sumi Gaeshi with a necklock counter to head-outside single?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Einarr, May 14, 2014.

  1. Einarr

    Einarr Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Osoto Gari'ing your mom.
    So, the IBJJF has banned belt-grip Sumi Gaeshi (Hikkomi Gaeshi, if you're a pedant) because it "endangers the neck" despite it being a very common technique in Judo and neck injuries from it being basically unheard of. Jumping a guillotine and pulling the opponent face first into the mat with it is perfectly safe though and so is completely legal. :rolleyes:

    I've been thinking and it seems the answer to this is to lock around the head/neck and flip them over with Sumi Gaeshi just like if you had a belt grip. Now this is of course many times more dangerous to the neck than belt-grip Sumi and absolutely WILL smash your opponent's head into the mat, but is still legal under IBJJF rules (would get you an instant DQ in Judo, funnily enough).
     
  2. futang17

    futang17 Green Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    10
    is sumi gaeshi still legal if you grab the gi instead?

    also funny because i consider sumi gaeshi of of the easiest/more gentle fall to take for uke.
     
  3. Gambledub

    Gambledub Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    chopping gifs
    I didn't think of that scenario, now that rule seems extra ridiculous (even more so than before)
     
  4. Uchi Mata

    Uchi Mata Preaching the gospel of heel hooks and left kicks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18,585
    Likes Received:
    4,180
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    It's a really stupid rule. It comes up so rarely that if damage was going to be done, it would happen well before the ref could issue a warning.
     
  5. KarateFist

    KarateFist Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    9
    the rule is against grabbing the belt and driving them down on their head
     
  6. Shemhazai

    Shemhazai Black Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    23
    This. You can still do sumi/hikkikomi gaeshi or a switch, you just can't spike the guy.
     
  7. PointyShinyBurn

    PointyShinyBurn Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    London, UK
    Why not a general head-spiking rule then, rather than this weirdly specific one?
     
  8. shunyata

    shunyata Red Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,450
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Location:
    The City of Angels
    IBJJF, keeping it real one guard jump at a time.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.