Subjectivity in Rogan's commentating

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by RexChapmanFan, Jan 5, 2015.

1. RexChapmanFan

RexChapmanFan Green Belt

I'm not a big critic or fan of Joe Rogan, but after viewing the Jones-Cormier fight, I do wonder whether his commentating is too subjective in noting which fighter is doing more damage.

I just remember him commenting that Jones continual elbows to DC in the clinch were so deadly and ghastly. But he had a far weaker reaction to DC's uppercut in the clinch, as if they were less severe.

I am no expert, but I would guess the uppercuts were at least as forceful as the elbows. But it is easy to get wrapped in Rogan's subjective take and possibly get a skewed outlook on fights.

Rogan is often called.out for favoring fighters just because he apparently likes them better. But I also find problematic his personal views on which tactics allegedly hurt the most or are most effective. I thought in this case that DC deserved more credit than he received.

2. Da Speeit

Da Speeit CANCEROUS POSTER Platinum Member

In bed with your bitch, watching game of thrones,
    His commentating is horrible these days, it really is. The Jones/Cormier fight was awful. He really offers no insight or analysis on what is actually going on, just "BRUUUUTALLLL elbow by Jones"

3. estranged

estranged Brown Belt

yeah I find it annoying at times

4. Emjay

Emjay And again and again and again and ag.. zzzzzzzz

There's no way to tell to what extent "damage" is being done (for the most part) so it shouldn't matter what Rogan says

5. Kertol

Kertol Brown Belt

Rogan is not that bright, must be from all the pot.

6. LynchRippin

LynchRippin Brown Belt

First time I've seen this post...

7. Kertol

Kertol Brown Belt

It was a close fight. Rogan did the same during Machida-Shogun 1.

8. EXlLE**

EXlLE** Orange Belt

Youd think he would be biased towards the manlet

9. Kirin

Kirin Death Operator Platinum Member