Stripes

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by aceofspades, Oct 6, 2010.

1. aceofspades

aceofspades White Belt

I've been training for eight months now (for twice a week, i've never had a break longer than two weeks from training) on a small academy that's a branch of a larger one. My trainer was a recently promoted brown belt, and I've always had a great deal of respect and admiration for him. Two weeks ago, we merged into the larger academy under a black belt who was my instructor's sensei and, on occasion, ours as well. Whenever there's a belt promotion, it's him the one that gives them out, not our instructor.

Because our instructor never bothered for the stripes system NONE of us had them. On this new academy, however, I saw certain people wearing them. IOut of curiosity, I went up to our sensei and asked him if I could attach a stripe to my belt when he felt I had earned it, and he didn't really give the matter that much importance, he just said "Sure sure, go put some tape around your belt, I think that guy has some". Then I tried asking my instructor, but he was busy and so I decided not to bother him since it didn't seem so important. Being a little childish and eager to impress my friends outside the mat, I went and wrapped some tape around my belt, and fought really well later besides. And at the end of the class I took my usual place in the line despite there being several older white belts who didn't have any stripes (I assume because they don't agree with the system) to my left.