1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Strength Training and BJJ

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by MaximusNZ, Aug 7, 2010.

1. MaximusNZ

MaximusNZ White Belt

Hi Guys,

I have been reading the forum for a while and I see it is full of excellent advice so I thought that I would ask for some advice.

I have been training in BJJ now for 5 months and I'm rolling 6 days a week. My conditioning is pretty good as the sessions are intensive, however, I'm concerned that all the strength training that I have been doing for the last few years will be wasted. I train Crossfit style with Kettlebells mainly and want to keep the size and strength that I have. Training both BJJ and Strength in the same day is simply counter productive.

Any advice on how to merge?

Maximus.

2. Tosa

Tosa Red Belt

Have you tried training BJJ and strength the same day and found it didn't work, or are you assuming it is counterproductive? If you tried doing both on the same day, what sort of routine were you doing? More detail than "crossfit style with kettlebells" would be helpful.

If you're only concerned about maintenance, one day a week of squat, bench, and some kind of pull would work. Or the "I'm doing jack shit" variation of 5/3/1.

3. paolo27th

paolo27th Black Belt

If you`ve been doing circuit training all this time you probably won`t have much to lose anyways. I`d suggest you switch to the 2 day split in the FAQ.

4. MaximusNZ

MaximusNZ White Belt

Apologises for being so vague on my training. I have trained using Mike Mahler before and seen some huge results Now I train with an MMA guy and we do functional push/pull variations. My training is un-conventional as I get bored very easily so it changes every few weeks. At present I'm training 4-5 times a week in the gym and 5-6 times a week on the mat in the evening.

A typical training session would be: