Strength block , can i transition to explosive work ?

Candytree1995

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

i was doing strength tranning for about 2 month now. I have never done strength tranning before, i followed some kind of Greyskull Lp template i also got his book i modifed it for myself a bit

Stats :
173 cm
62,6 kg
Muaythai about 1 year and a few month
Squat : 72,5Kg
Deadlift 92,5Kg
Benchpress: 60Kg
Press : 37,5 KG

Day 1

1) Back Squats 3x5
2) Bench press 3x5/Press
3) Rows 2x8/Weighted chinups 2x8
5) Facepulls 2x10

Day 2

1) Deadlift 1x5
2) OVerheadpress/Benchpress 3x5
3) Rows 2x8/weighted chinups 2x8
5) Woodchops 2x8
6) SB Plank 3

I think your programming is solid based on your other demands, but at two days a week w/competing adaptations, you are going to have to be patient. I'm not saying this to be rude, but you have a lot more to gain out of basic strength before worrying about explosiveness, and you already have a lot of volume during the week.

If you DO end up incorporating explosive work, you really want to do it before your heavy strength work, not after. That type of work has to be done fresh, never to fatigue, to get the improvements you're after.

Joel's article really should have mentioned that power endurance requires the ability to generate power in the first place. If you have poor force production, address that first through proper avenues. The periodization in that article is only suited for strong, explosive fighters who need to condition themselves to be strong and explosive all fight.

Last edited: