1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

strength and conditioning for a beginner

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by aweiner769, Nov 2, 2010.

1. aweiner769

aweiner769 White Belt

first off yes i have read the FAQ.

I am completely new to mma and im looking for a great workout thatll kick my ass. I was looking at the Bill Starr 5x5 that was in the FAQ, any input on that? or any other workout you like. The only actual training i have is goring to the MMA club at my school once or twice a week for an hour and a half. I dont have the money or mode of transportation to go to an actual gym. so i have plenty of free time to workout. I would like a workout that has me in the gym, whether it be lifting, running, or anything else, at least 5 days a week. a have way too much free time right now. any links or maybe specific exercises you like, anything is helpful, im completely new.

2. zhangmaster12

zhangmaster12 Blue Belt

yes, the Bill Starr 5x5 will kick your ass. Hard. Its a great program.

If you want to Bill Starr 5x5 and do MMA, you will need to 5x5 with a fork as well.

3 Days Lifting + 2 Days MMA = 5 days in gym.

Good luck.

3. edco76

edco76 huh? Platinum Member

Any of the plans in FAQ are good. Bill Starr, Strong Lifts, Starting Strength, The 3 day split. All good. Just do the work.

The only advice I would offer is to ease in. If you are just starting or planning to start the MMA training, you may wanna do that for a few weeks and get into the groove. If you are going from nothing straight to MMA 2-3 times a week, and lifting 3 times a week. Its gonna whip your ass pretty quick.

4. DrBdan

DrBdan Something clever

You can't get to a gym but you want to be in the gym 5 days/week? I'm confused. Do you mean you can go to the MMA gym at your school but can't get to a weightlifting gym? What resources are available at your school? Is it high school or college/university?

Last edited: Nov 3, 2010