Start Kickboxing tomorrow

phenomfan1529

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Hey guys, tomorrow I start kickboxing. Does anybody have any tips for a newcomer? I've been boxing for 7 months & I wanted to learn kicks. I originally wanted to take Muay Thai but couldnt find a place where I live. Well n e ways, any tips would be appreciated.

Oh BTW, I know this was proly asked many times but, whats the difference between kickboxing & muay thai kickboxing?

Thats great man. I myself have been training muay thai for 6 months now. I would say just pay close attention to how the kicks are done (shifting hips, loose legs etc.) you'll get the hang of it eventually. I believe muay thai kickboxing incorporates and focuses the elbows and knees a lot more than simple kickboxing.

There could be a bunch of differences depending on the rule style of kickboxing you are going to do.

Basically it breaks down like this:
Muay Thai - Punches, Elbows, Knees, Kicks - allowed everywhere but the nuts pretty much depending on the state/provincial sanctioning body etc. Clinching is not usually broken up as soon as long as stuff is being thrown and some limited throws are allowed from the clinch - also grabbing legs and kicking etc is allowed. Traditionally 3 minute rounds with 2 min breaks but it can be different.

International Rules - punches and kicks - low kicks allowed

Full Contact Rules - Punches, kicks above the waist. 2 min rounds with 1 min breaks I think. Been a while since I did this.

As far as tips for a beginner. Get the stance right, get used to moving around without getting off balance. Don't be in an all fired hurry to learn every combo and techniques. Enthusiasm is good but if the foundation isn't there all you new techs are going to suck anyway.