Squatting, Judo, and sport specificity.

Ethan

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I'm really only using myself and the low bar vs. Oly squat as an example here.

The way I understand squatting for sports is that the low bar squat is more effective in training the hip extension and that is desirable. More to the point, the low bar squat keeps knee pain down for me and allows me personally to use heavier weights and develop more limit strength.

However, in my sport when I throw, it's from a straight back squatting position with my heels up, closer to a high bar/Oly squat in Oly shoes with an elevated heel. I can squat heavy in the Oly style for about 6 weeks consistently without aggravating my knees too much. I cannot however perform the Oly lifts without knee pain. I think the fast drop under the bar is the issue.

Following the theory of training sport specific movements, which I am only learning about now, does it make sense to use the Olympic/high bar squat in the 5-8 weeks out from competition (I.e the conversion phase) to try and transfer any low bar gains over to strength in the movement for throwing Soei Nage?

If it's worthwhile, I'd be interested in how you personally would program it, as well.

I'm sure I could research this but this is more fun.

Last edited:

The way I understand squatting for sports is that the low bar squat is more effective in training the hip extension and that is desirable. More to the point, the low bar squat keeps knee pain down for me and allows me personally to use heavier weights and develop more limit strength.

However, in my sport when I throw, it's from a straight back squatting position with my heels up, closer to a high bar/Oly squat. I can squat heavy in the Oly style for about 6 weeks consistently without aggravating my knees too much.