Squat, Bench, Deadlift, China Buffet, Repeat

Poseylifts

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Height: 6'
Weight: 228 lbs

Background:
I started lifting about 6 months ago with a couple friends from work. We started doing an upper body/lower body split and I made decent gains from it up until a few weeks ago where I started to stall and realize I was trying to do too much. I've been reading a lot lately on strength training and, with help from the forum, have decided on a texas method program. I just got off of 10 days of househunting leave (Navy) and tonight was my first workout in about 2 weeks. I would put myself as a beginner/intermediate as far as my lifts go.

Goals:
I would like to squat 385, bench 275, and deadlift 445 by the end of the year. Long term goals would be to just keep getting stronger and compete in powerlifting eventually. I love weight training and I want to stay consisent without burning myself out on my favorite hobby.

Program:
Monday - Volume Day
Squats - 5 x 5
Bench Press/Press - 5 x 5 (Alternating weekly)
Rows - 5 x 5
Dips - 3 x Failure (Weighted dips 5 x 5 once I can get BW x 12 x 3)

Wednesday - Recovery Day
Front Squats - 3 x 3
Press/Bench Press - 3 x 3
Power Cleans - 5 x 3
Chinups - 3 x Failure (Weighted chinups 3 x 3 once I can get BW x 8 x 3)

Friday - Intensity Day
Work up to a 1RM, 2RM, or 3RM on squats, bench press/press, and deadlift. Alternate between the three from week to week.

I'll add 5 pounds to the 5x5 and 3x3 sets once I can get all the reps. I plan on looking at some projected 1RM charts to figure out what to go with on intensity days, kind of playing it by feel the first few weeks.

Hopefully I can follow this program for a few months and make steady gains. As far as diet is concerned I just want to eat a lot of food and drink lots of milk/water. I'll try to get as much sleep as I can as I know recovery is the most important thing next to training hard. Anyhow, here it goes!