Sparring w/different styles

samb867

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Basically I've been training karate since I was 7 (15 years or so) and lately I've been bitten by the MMA bug pretty hard and I'm starting to train in Judo and Ju-jitsu to round things out.

Problem is, I'm currently living in a place without a local MMA gym/school and where the karate is all point-fighting, which I find too limited.

The upshot is that in fishing around for sparring partners I've found some guys who do Kung Fu (White Crane) and live really close to me, who are more than willing to train/spar together. While this isn't MMA sparring by any stretch (no gloves, just controlled contact/pulled punches etc) I would have thought that just having the opportunity to keep in touch with things like proper range-finding etc would make this worth my while for the moment.

However, I just thought I'd sound out opinions on here. Is it worth doing this somewhat restrictive sparring a few times a week or would I be better off putting my time into more conditioning/bag work etc?

Sorry that's a bit long!

You can make contact without gloves. Kyokushin guys do it on a daily basis. I do that with my best friend for conditioning as well, the only thing that's pulled are punches to the head/face (we open hand slap for those).

That said, there's nothing wrong with making the best of your situation. Just make sure you aren't building bad habits and you're being honest with yourself and your performance. I mean you're doing it for the love of the activity right? So go have fun with it.

Oh, sorry, I think I'm working on a misapprehension. I always thought of pulled punches as still making contact but with reduced force. And we slap to the face a fair bit too so that's reassuring.

Thanks for the encouragement!

Why don't you go buy gloves and mouthpeices and do it for real?