1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Some tips from catch wrestling

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by DonkeyKong, Oct 26, 2005.

1. DonkeyKong

DonkeyKong Frazier > Ali

Those who are advanced submission fighters may or may not be familiar with these

- When you have sidemount, don

2. b0b

b0b Banned Banned

3. DonkeyKong

DonkeyKong Frazier > Ali

Insane tips. Tony Cecchine

4. b0b

b0b Banned Banned

I have watched the tapes, but I am VERY new to grappling, so I couldn't really use them much. I am going to re-watch the ground domination tapes again to help me out.

5. TapouTime

TapouTime Guest

those are great tech except keep in mind that in BJJ tournaments and some grappling tournaments applying a straight ankle lock on the side of the free leg is ILLEGAL and considered a heel hook because the knee is twisting.... you have to roll towards the outside i have been in tournaments where you cant even bring your leg over his but thats not all the time.. at least for purple and below those are the rules

6. DonkeyKong

DonkeyKong Frazier > Ali

can you explain that a little better? What is it exactly that you can

7. DonkeyKong

DonkeyKong Frazier > Ali

IS the stepover toehold allowed? I never saw it in competition.

8. Balto

Balto Silver Belt

These are excellent tips (although I have heard them all previously from BJJ too).

I am pretty sure it is legal to fall to the side on a straight achilles lock. You should not be twisting his knee on the straight lock even if you fall to the side. You are arching straight back; it just so happens that since you are on your side, the ground is not in your way anymore.

It is very easy to get a heelhook from the side facing position, but you can still finish with the achilles lock if the rules prohibit them.

9. DonkeyKong

DonkeyKong Frazier > Ali

a stepover toehold in BJJ?!?

10. Zankou

Zankou Muscle and Hate Staff Member Senior Moderator