Social Anxiety & Training

Magx951

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to Martial arts, just joined an MMA gym. I really want to learn, but I've got massive social anxiety and sometimes get so anxious that I don't even end up going to training. I feel like as a noob I'm going to be so utterly embarassed that I'll be laughed out of the gym.

Does anyone have similar experiences or advice? I know it should be simple enough that I should just get over it, but I keep making mountains out of molehills and I don't know what to do about it. Are fighters usually nice to the newbies or will I get destroyed mentally?

EDIT: Sorry, I meant to explain why I posted this in stand-up. I'm mostly in there for Boxing and Thai boxing

I used to have anxiety. I still do at times, but when it's time to work at the gym. That's the only thing I think about.

Let's say something embarrassing does happen.. So what? If there's a good coach hosting the gym there should also be good discipline.

You should be fine.

No matter how long you have been training or how good you get, you will always feel a lot of anxiety going into a new gym. And you should. Its unfamiliar and there is apparent danger everywhere. This is a normal part to your martial development and probably your first hurdle to overcome

My advice is to accept the anxiety as an intelligent caution but don't let it control you. Make a commitment to do something really minor that will mean that you haven't give up. For example, force yourself to go through the front door or to watch the class. That is relatively easy and non-confrontational. What you will quickly find is that you will become more comfortable with the environment, thus experience less anxiety, and then you wont be able to stop yourself from joining in. Then you will be a martial artist.

The most important thing you can do is actually show up to training. Once you get there and the class starts you will be fine and will forget about any anxiety.