So many BJJ injuries

metalgeardiesel

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training for about 4 months now and have been in and out of training because of wrist injuries. I'm really discouraged and was wondering if I'm the only one that is experiencing this.

I'm thinking of just weight lifting until i get stronger and then coming back when I'm stronger. Since BJJ is a combat sport, of course injuries should be expected.

Besides getting stronger, icing your joints, stretching, and eating healthy, what are some ways to prevent injuries? I really want to continue, but at the same time I don't know if it is worth it to get injured for a month and then come back again and again. BJJ is also expensive...

Any advice?

if you're consistently hurting your wrist you might want to see a doctor. at least, thats what i'd do. but i also don't know how severe it is or what you did to it.

Do you post your arm when you fall to the mat? If that is the case then learn to breakfall.

Wrist? Really?
Are you training gi or no-gi? How often do you train?
Do you roll with other white belts or blues/purples? Most people would probably say that you're more likely to get hurt with other whites, blues usually won't hurt you, and purples will beat you very gently.

You should tell your instructor and higher ranked training partners and see if they can tell you why your wrist might be getting hurt.
Maybe you are holding on to things against your opponent's leverage consistently/persistently.
Maybe you can try just twice a week with two days of rest in between, and then bump it up to 3x/wk if you feel like it.
I don't think I'm one of those guys who's cut out to train 5x/wk, or twice a day, or anything like that. I also can't lift weights on the same day I trained. Not like I have time for it, but I wouldn't be able to physically do it if I did have time.
You could also wear some kind of medical brace on each wrist, or even use a training glove that gives wrist support.