So I want to win the golden gloves...

Matt Thornton

Amateur Fighter
Reaction score
But I've never trained formally at a boxing gym. See, I've been setting goals for myself, and I want to set goals in all different aspects of MMA, so I can be a really well rounded fighter (grappling, clinching/wrestling, and stand up fighting, I like equally). So for example, I'd like to be a great grappler, but instead of setting ADCC as an eventual goal for myself, I'd like to compete in Grappler's Quest, and maybe make it to the try-outs of ADCC. Likewise for stand-up; I don't want to try and be a champion pro boxer, but I think the Golden Gloves are an achievable and realistic goal.

Now, even though I haven't trained at a boxing gym, I have been studying and learning boxing for about 3 years now. For a while, I was taking private lessons with Kato Wilson: 1982 ESPN Figher of the Year, and I take kickboxing at my MMA gym.

Obviously, if I want to win the GG, I need to go to a boxing gym. There's a kid who goes to my gym who won the GG in his weight class, and I guess I figured it's a realistic goal for me because I can hold my own in stand-up with him.

So, my question to all of you is, do you agree that the Golden Gloves are a realistic goal to set, if I'm also learning grappling, kickboxing, etc.? I'd be willing to put my kicks on hold (although I have really good kicks), because IMO, punches are really higher percentage strikes, especially in MMA.

How long should someone train in boxing to compete for the Golden Gloves? Can I still train in the other parts of MMA? I am willing to train 4 hours a day, 5 days a week in MMA, with one rest day and one day of a little bit less work.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm trying to decide between Judo or extra boxing for cross training.

Well, if you've got striking experience, considering the decline of boxing, if you compete at a "weak" location, you may win. Now's a good time to train hardcore. the tourney's in about 3 months.