Smoking and BJJ (Yes This)

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by GotDaWork, Oct 18, 2010.

1. GotDaWork

GotDaWork White Belt

I've been smoking for about 4 years now,I've managed to keep it at 5-7 cigs a day,will this effect my cardio enough to effect my BJJ?

2. SuperSuperRambo

SuperSuperRambo Senior Moderator Senior Moderator

3. GotDaWork

GotDaWork White Belt

I figure,why the hell shouldnt I quit,I've been doing small stuff like not smoking the days I train, and its just dumb,why do I have to be so weak that I smoke...I've never tried quitting but..I'll quit after tonight

4. Sloth

Sloth Brown Belt

Most likely yes, imo. I smoked about a pack a day when I started bjj and got used to training if I could keep up 5 days a week of training. If I took a few days off, it was absolutely horrible my first day back. I quit about a year and a half into training and the difference was huge.

5. lanp3960

lanp3960 White Belt

Just start chewing instead. That seems to be popular with some guys I train with. And look on the bright side, after a few years your choke defenses will improve, you won't be able to tuck your chin anymore...

6. mweaver123

mweaver123 Yellow Belt

You should really think about quitting. At the very least, don't smoke before class. No one likes rolling with the smelly smoker...

7. dazed863

dazed863 Blue Belt

did it effect you when you first quit?

i've seen it effect runners negatively at first and i wonder if it's the same in BJJ

also i would regardless... dying of cancer sucks i wouldn't wish that on anyone... why increase the chances for yourself?

8. Latecomer

Latecomer Blue Belt

Don't forget the added benefit of premature toothlessness. No more tapping to those who apply chokes across the face!

More seriously, look at it this way: There is no way it's going to help your BJJ cardio. There are so many health risks related to smoking, quitting altogether is a sensible choice.

9. Prominence

Prominence White Belt