Small guy vs big guy problems, newbie here

had0uken

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Now I'm a 6 foot guy, at about 170-175 with very strong legs, but a really weak upper body form. I'm a striker, and my ground game is terrible. I just recently started Jiu jitsu, and I try to work with the moves that work, and only the ones that affiliate to my physique. My buddy and I roll on a daily, and he is a strong motherf**er lol. I want to say he's at about 200 lbs, 6 "3 with an equal body size for both legs and upper body. His lower legs are a lot stronger and bigger than mine, so I always have to flip him over to usually pass his guard and from there it turns into a scramble.

I was looking at the basics that BJ Penn was talking about, and I like how he passes the guard while applying pressure on a person shoulder. I think I am going to try that, because pinning down the leg doesn't seem to work at all on this guy. He is really strong when shrimping out to the side, and then again from there it turns into a scramble.

I'm trying to incorporate basics to see what works best on bigger guys. My question is ? Sorry for the variety amount

On the bottom:
How do I use speed when I'm on the ground, and what are some of the more dominant positions for smaller guys to be in when ontop ?
Usually when I'm on the bottom, I try to use butterfly guard as much as possible, and weave my opponents frame left and right to look for a suitable sweep by using momentum ?

Side Control:
Should I scramble more than anything when on the top position to try and confuse him about my moves ?
I heard when in side control you always want to have the far shoulder of your opponent underhooked ? Especially on a bigger guy so you can bring his posture down without him
having to turn into you ?