Simple grappling tips??

Latani6

Green Belt
Reaction score
I started training grappling, kickboxing and beginner MMA a few weeks ago and I am loving it. Been learning a lot and everyone has been really helpful.

However, a lot of the time I feel my physical strength is the only reason I'm not constantly getting trounced in open mat. I get my fair share of submissions but I can tell I am missing small incremental steps and such that are hindering me from using my strength to really continue my progress.

I am just asking for basic tips you guys all received early in your training that were easy to remember when you were going rounds and ultimately helped you learn on your feet a lot more efficiently. I don't expect a cure all thread, I just want some good little tips to have on my mind when I'm in top position or in rubber guard or on bottom, etc.

My instructor has been awesome and he's helping me step by step but I've always been a big advocate of showing up to each session, regardless of sport, with something new to experiment with.

Any replies will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

for MMA grappling, keep practicing the "pummeling" drill and learn to get double underhooks. This is a vital drill for not only learning to establish good position for a takedown but also to stuff an opponent when he shoots in on you.

I know these are kind of cliched pieces of advice, but we've always trained with the mentality of establish quality position, then work for submissions. Also, master the basics first, then expand to more complex manuevers.

Thanks guys. I find myself getting kind of stubborn with trying for a submission and that's definitely hindering me but I'm improving that. Hopefully I'll just find myself finding a more natural flow between sub attempts and gaining quality position.

This is super-basic, but you said you just started...