1. We are currently experiencing technical difficulties. For those experiencing login issues, a temporary solution is to clear your cache and cookies on your web browser. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
  2. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

Shouldn't it be a technical draw or no?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by GrantB13, Feb 15, 2020.

  1. GrantB13 Red Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,258
    Likes Received:
    2,552
    If a foul is committed late in the fight like this fight, isn't it different than a DQ or is that only if it's less egregious than a knee to a downed opponent?
     
  2. Fitch White Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    20
    If an accidental foul causes an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout after ½ of the scheduled rounds, plus one (1) second of the fight has been completed, the bout will result in a TECHNICAL DECISION awarded to the fighter who is ahead on the score cards at the time the bout is stopped.
     
  3. RoosterHucklebuck Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    507
    An accidental foul is an eye poke or a groin shot. Kneeing a guy in the head while he is down isn't accidental.
     
  4. boss429 BowtieA$$a$$in

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Guy above (Fitch) nailed it but too be honest in 20+ years of watching MMA I can't recall a single time the Technical decision rule was actually applied.
     
  5. Ruke Doufus Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    978
    I think asking him if he WANTED to continue was silly. Should have assessed if he COULD continue. He could. And the destruction would have been completed satisfactorily and the JBG would be appeased.

    Now as penance we will lose Ferguson Kabib.
     
  6. Sleazy C White Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Fight Island, Abu Dhabi
    Bisping vs Belcher is the only one that comes to mind
     
  7. gato sin techo Green Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    10
    Weird rules. The ref should have stopped the fight, let Diego complain a little and have them saying like let's do a rematch bro. Maybe like that time when happened earlier tonight lol
     
  8. podsox Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    18,567
    Likes Received:
    3,439
    It’s either a dq or a no contest. It’s up the ref. I’ve seen it go both ways.
     
  9. boss429 BowtieA$$a$$in

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Oh really, I only recall that fight being Bispings "coming out party" of sorts since the majority thought Belcher was the next big thing and would walk threw a Bisping that spent a career being drastically under rated and disrespected.

    I remember Bisping clearly winning the fight but can't recall how it ended, what happened if you don't mind refreshing an old mans failing memory? Haha
     
  10. Sleazy C White Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Fight Island, Abu Dhabi
    I want to say Belcher poked Bisping in the eye with just a couple minutes left in the fight and Bisping got the win. I only remember it because Bisping later had eye problems, and I thought they might be related to that fight, although I don’t know if that’s true or not.
     
  11. boss429 BowtieA$$a$$in

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Cool, thanks.

    It probably didn't help but as far as eye know (see what I did there, lol) the injury stems from Vitor detaching his retina with that wheel kick.
     
  12. BLIND Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,300
    Likes Received:
    221
    Wow, backwards man. Bisping poked Belcher a couple times and the final time was pretty damn bad. Belcher couldn't continue and it went to a technical decision. I only saw it once but I know Bisping eye poked him at least twice. Might've been 3 times over the course of the fight
     
  13. Sleazy C White Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Fight Island, Abu Dhabi
    Ah, my bad, been a minute since I’ve seen it. I just remember it had to do with eye pokes and Bisping won
     
  14. lostdog000 Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    18,589
    Likes Received:
    1,737
    Location:
    They Came Together (2014) - IMDb
    The fight was stopped at 4:29 of round 3 as Bisping inadvertently poked Belcher in the eye, rendering Belcher unable to continue. Bisping won the bout via unanimous technical decision.[65]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.