Shoulder Joint Concern, What Can I Potentially Do As Pre-hab?

Justice 4 All

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I started training MMA about a month ago after a long break from combat sports, and I'm a bit worried about my shoulders. They've been gradually aching more and more after training and lifting, and I'm wondering whether this is just fatigue resulting from the increased volume of exercising them (and something they will eventually get used to) or if it's something more serious that requires pre-hab work.

Things that may be responsible.
For lifting I'm doing the Onus Wunsler Program (switched about 3 weeks ago, so I'm new to Power Cleans), and at training we do a lot of pressing up (wide, narrow, traditional and jumping) and "hot rounds" of mindlessly punching a bag for 2-3 minutes as fast/hard as we can non stop. Also, we do submission grappling, with kimuras worked into each session.

To try and describe the soreness.
I have a hard time moving (especially lifting) my arms without getting pain in both my traps and deltoids as well as what feels like a deeper, close to joint, muscle tension (rotator cuff?). I also have a very minute pain in the form of what we call in Finnish "viilt

I'm not sure if this is what you're looking for, but maybe this post will be of some help:

http://www.sherdog.net/forums/f13/assessing-risk-shoulder-injuries-how-strengthen-shoulder-girdle-1362493/#post43628975

Read through it, thanks.

I don't think I have any major form issues, and I am content with my (ever improving) posture. These issues really just arose after I started with MMA, and the comments made about tendinitis make me worry that my tendons aren't used to working so hard. Maybe I just need to take it a bit easier at practice and ease myself into it.

Point out specifically where you feel the pain on a picture.

Point out specifically where you feel the pain on a picture.

Not sure how to do that.

Maybe this pic might help.

50_-19595_100.png

Rotator Cuff Muscles/Tendon