Short-term goals in Sparring

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by BrokenNose, Jul 23, 2010.

1. BrokenNose

BrokenNose Orange Belt

I try to spar pretty regularly, but I'm still new at it. I flinch pretty badly. I get shut down in flurries of punches.

My question is this: what should I concentrate on achieving during those flurries?

Move my head? Stay calm? Try to actively defend? Try to counter? Should I let the flurry happen in the first place?

I know I should be jabbing a hellofalot to shut down ridiculous wailing like that on me, but I'm such a newbie right now that I just don't quite understand the science of boxing.

Right now I'm trying to move my head, keep my hands up, and jab, but I'm blinded by the punches. I'll be sparring regularly still, but I'd like to have some input on stuff I can work on while in the ring.

Thanks. Sorry if this has been beaten to death.

2. DkMacaw

DkMacaw Brown Belt

you must do something unless you're gassed. if it's MT, go into the clinch, if it's KB try and counter but most importantly, move away.

3. BrokenNose

BrokenNose Orange Belt

It's just boxing.

The problem is that anything I think of doing, it doesn't happen because I'm being shut down by the flurries; I just flinch too much. I want to not be shut down. I want to know the little things I can work on so eventually I stop being helpless in a barrage of punches.

4. HoyBoi

HoyBoi Orange Belt

In order of importance and the easiest (for me at least):

1. Keep you eyes open to see the punches coming (don't know how badly you're flinching, but when I first started, I would turn away or turtle up and become a punching bag...)

2. Move your feet to get away

3. Move your head to defend but keep your range

4. Learn to counter while doing #3 / #4....

Just my $0.02, hope that helps.

Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  5. vjvj

vjvj Mr. Pibb + Red Vines = Crazy Delicious