Say no to pulling guard or using submissions from the guard for the next month.

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by flyingknee16, Aug 26, 2005.

1. flyingknee16

flyingknee16 Brown Belt

Well, I've been doing BJJ for nearly 2 years now, and I have bad habits regarding pulling guard and working almost exclusively from there. Of course, I've been working on sweeps and such, but my main game and strength is from my guard. But from this day on, I vow not to pull guard for the next month.

So, the rules are:
    1) No pulling guard from standing or "on knees" position.
    2) If you end up with your opponent in your guard, you must only sweep him or somehow get out (no subs).

Anyone with me? :D

2. FiveByFive

FiveByFive White Belt

You don't have to pull guard. You can do butterfly guard sweeps to end up on top. Or just push them.

But if you are going to go against a wrestler on your knees, there's no way you will not pull guard. There was this shootfighter with ample wrestling experience. He's 208 and I had to use my guard. Or try armbars from open guard when I have one of their arms trapped.

From standing I of course go for the takedown. Pulling guard from standup looks silly, unless you want points (you get points for pulling guard right?).

3. Foolkiller

Foolkiller You have meddled with the primal forces of nature!

Part of the only one holistic system of systems
    Most tournaments either penalise people for pulling guard or award no points in my experience.

4. FiveByFive

FiveByFive White Belt

Ok I guess I confused that with pulling guard if someone takes you down.

5. flyingknee16

flyingknee16 Brown Belt

Actually, I was referring to just working from the bottom in any way. I've got some good sweeps from the bottom, but I'd rather just end on top from the beginning in the first place.

And I've been doing rolling with strikes lately, and it can suck to be on your back if you are on the bottom and the guy on top is pounding.

6. flyingknee16