S mount Help!!

Macca97

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, recently I've been loving the s mount as armbars are my go to, but I've been finding bigger dudes (even some smaller ones too) being able to turn back square with me and put me back into full mount, obviously I'm doing something wrong because the position feels pretty tight so yea basically I'm looking for a rundown on the s mount and how you can cancel their movement.

Also as a secondary question, what do you guys think about a smaller guy (me) at 68kg using this against guy much bigger than me or would it just not work

I'm no expert, but I know when I have s-mount the biggest thing in my success on the position relies on controlling their far arm, keeping my knee tight to their head/shoulder, and controlling them with my far leg that is underhooking their armpit.

Make sure you monitor the heal that is in front of there belt line/hips. Its a good habit to get it as close as possible to there body. If there is space they can get back flat, or they can escape by putting both arms under that same leg and get out the back door/create a scramble.

Good luck

S mount is one of my favorite techniques from the top, I like to threaten some sort of choke to set it up, get the guy to bring his arms up a bit to defend giving me room to slide up to a high mount and then to the S mount. The key is you want to make sure your knee and your foot are touching and you are kind of turning a little of an angle to make sure they are touching (this clamps their arms and traps them)

I usually finish the armbar without falling back. Here's a video of me hitting it in a tournament:

[YT]0ttqOSbHzX4[/YT]

It's about 1:38 into the video.

I'm a fan of the s-mount as well.. something that helps me against bigger guys is to make sure my back leg (the one that will go around the head for the armbar) is turned enough that it forms a base so I don't get bucked off so easily