S & C the Westside way

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Kmonk, Sep 19, 2010.

1. Kmonk

Kmonk Green Belt

I've been lifting off and on for about 10 years now while training in a variety of athletic disciplines, primarily in the martial arts. I've been extremely consistent in that I have always been doing at least one of these two things, if not both of them during that time period- until last year.

I began taking classes again last fall, and amidst the new demands on my schedule I cut my regimen back to a couple judo classes a week, and by winter I was completely inactive. In the spring of this year I began a basic routine that consisted of some moderate cardio and a simple three day weight training split (chest/back; lower body; arms/shoulders.) It offered general maintenance, but by mid summer I realized that I was stagnating badly in every area. I needed to inject some life into my workout.

In the midst of reanalyzing my approach, forum member ChinBo37 suggested that I establish a training log to record my progress and receive valuable advice from other gym warriors and workout gurus (primarily himself.) This log will hopefully serve as a testament to the years of labor invested in a body well-earned.

I will record my daily efforts in two areas: nutrition (and supplementation) and workouts. My workouts will have a focus on either strength or cardio.

I have had some great success with the Westside for Skinny Bastards program in the past, and my goal is to follow the WSFSB original program until mid fall, at which point I will begin the third iteration of the program; the major difference is the inclusion of a second leg day in the weekly split.