Running

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by deckingdutchman, Jun 1, 2008.

1. deckingdutchman

deckingdutchman Orange Belt

I've been doing martial arts for about 5 years now (I'm 19), but never did much in terms of running. I weight lifted, trained (obviously), and did stuff like burpees and sprints for conditioning.

Yesterday I ran long distance for practically the first time ever, and did 2.25 very hilly miles in 19 minutes with relative ease. I kindda enjoyed it and figured I would pick up running 3 days a week to add to my conditioning.

My question is, can I work up to running, let's say, a half marathon without having to worry about loosing muscle, or is there a distance I should restrict myself too? I will keep weightlifting and fighting.

I'm 19, 6'3" and 210lbs.

2. BayAreaGuy

BayAreaGuy Good Day

Don't know about "half marathon" but Tyson ran 7-8 miles per day. Lots of boxers and fighters run a lot like that. Fedor says he runs about the same amount.

3. rEdShawks

rEdShawks Brown Belt

dude 2 to 3 miles is definately not long distance

4. deckingdutchman

deckingdutchman Orange Belt

yea i know... what i really meant by "long distance" was that it was not a sprint. my bad poor word choice.

5. Gina Submits Me

Gina Submits Me Purple Belt

I don't see why you'd lose muscle because of running.

6. TheAth-ah-lete

TheAth-ah-lete Purple Belt

Why don't you just run as much as you want and if you start losing muscle or weight you can eat more/run less. No one else can tell you how much your body can handle.

7. Ian Coe

Ian Coe Silver Belt Professional Fighter

I was going to say lol

Play it by ear. Do some longer runs (up to 8 milers) and some shorter hard runs and some interval work and some pure sprint sessions.

I would say though, ease into the volume because things are take too much strain when running if you're a big lad

8. machine29

machine29 Guest