Running

deckingdutchman

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I've been doing martial arts for about 5 years now (I'm 19), but never did much in terms of running. I weight lifted, trained (obviously), and did stuff like burpees and sprints for conditioning.

Yesterday I ran long distance for practically the first time ever, and did 2.25 very hilly miles in 19 minutes with relative ease. I kindda enjoyed it and figured I would pick up running 3 days a week to add to my conditioning.

My question is, can I work up to running, let's say, a half marathon without having to worry about loosing muscle, or is there a distance I should restrict myself too? I will keep weightlifting and fighting.

I'm 19, 6'3" and 210lbs.

My question is, can I work up to running, let's say, a half marathon without having to worry about loosing muscle, or is there a distance I should restrict myself too? I will keep weightlifting and fighting.

Don't know about "half marathon" but Tyson ran 7-8 miles per day. Lots of boxers and fighters run a lot like that. Fedor says he runs about the same amount.

Why don't you just run as much as you want and if you start losing muscle or weight you can eat more/run less. No one else can tell you how much your body can handle.

yea i know... what i really meant by "long distance" was that it was not a sprint. my bad poor word choice.

I was going to say lol

Play it by ear. Do some longer runs (up to 8 milers) and some shorter hard runs and some interval work and some pure sprint sessions.

I would say though, ease into the volume because things are take too much strain when running if you're a big lad

too much running coupled with poor nutrition will cause u to lose strength. Iknow that from experience. Running also burns off so many calories, u have to be very careful.

Id say run 3-5 miles 3-4 days a week and be sure to eat well on those days.