Running and bjj

Rws177die

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing bjj for two years now. On rolling nights we go a solid hour with no breaks and I can go the whole time without getting gassed out completely. I

When you run what happens first, do your legs give out/tighten to the point you cannot continue without straining a muscle, does your stomach knot and turn, cramping up on you, or do you find yourself winded and gassed?

When I run I find that my legs tighten and my stomach cramps well before my lungs give out.

If you can roll for a solid hour, it is quite likely that your cardio is NOT the problem, but rather you have issues with your legs/stomach. The one thing I've done to eliminate the stomach cramps is that I don't drink much water before I run, I just have some energy gel or an energy/granola bar 10-20 minutes before I run, wash it down with a small sip of water, wait for things to settle a bit, then run.

and on the flip side of the coin

many athletes come into the gym who can run for hours, but can't roll for ten minutes

they're night and day differences.

stick with running and you'll develop more endurance in that area
the same goes for grappling

It's different cardio and different exercise.

I trained for a year for a half marathon before returning to BJJ. My running cardio was great. I mean, I ran 13 miles. I could barely roll for 3 minutes straight without being ill.

Now, I can roll for an hour and do 8 to 10, 5 minute rounds and I can't run more than a few miles.

When you run what happens first, do your legs give out/tighten to the point you cannot continue without straining a muscle, does your stomach knot and turn, cramping up on you, or do you find yourself winded and gassed?

When I run I find that my legs tighten and my stomach cramps well before my lungs give out.