Round house critique please(link to video)

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Joshua1991, May 25, 2014.

1. Joshua1991

Joshua1991 White Belt

Just need some advice or tips on what I should or shouldn't be doing with my kick. I'm trying to go for a Muay Thai round house also not taekwondo. I'm also self trained from youtube and google for now!(no trainers in my area) I feel like I'm not using my hips enough or I'm not turning them over correctly or something it just doesn't look the same as what I see on youtube to me! Any and all advice will help thank you all

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dlmJs0kTIuw

2. zapataxiv

zapataxiv Black Belt

Honestly that's looks amazing for being self taught, so good it has me doubting the completely self trained part

3. Joshua1991

Joshua1991 White Belt

4. Ricki

Ricki Yellow Belt

You're the Robert Johnson of Muay Thai.
    How'd you get so good on your own son?

5. Joshua1991

Joshua1991 White Belt

Idk if ur being sarcastic or what?

6. Harukaze

Harukaze Brown Belt

Chambering and snapping at the knee too much, not rolling your hip and pelvis over enough, whole body is not quite loose enough, in terms of a Thai-style kick.

But it looks like a dammed good Kyokushin-style round kick you got going there so no biggie. :D

7. Joshua1991

Joshua1991 White Belt

Thank you, the hips feels like my main problem mainly because I'm
    Not quite sure what turning the hips over means fully. If it just means rotate the right side across past the left or what? And when I keep my leg straight I for some reason can't get as much power on it maybe that's the hip thing tho?

8. Harukaze

Harukaze Brown Belt

More or less. Think of the kicking side of your pelvis rolling up and over an imaginary horizontal cylinder that goes from your junk to the target, that's what I mean by rolling your hips over fully.