Roger Gracie cross choke from mount breakdown

TrumpetDan

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Hey f12. I filmed a new lesson to kick off my top mount series. It is an introduction to the cross choke from the mount as applied by Roger Gracie...or as close to it as I know how. Specifically this coveres setting up the cross choke from the mount off of how he passes the half guard. This has as much information as I could get in in 9:59.99 min.

My mount lesson 2 will also cover additional entries into mount as they relate to the cross choke, some additional variables/details as well as a heap full of narrated roger matches. I could only squeeze in one in this lesson. Additional questions about the passes/mount sequences will be answered in my passing guard lessons which are not yet up.

This is my lesson that im sure will rub some the wrong way as it has the largest shoes to fill. No disrespect to anybody intended...im just learning like the rest of us and making these videos helps me learn.

Great stuff. I have been dying to get a cross choke from mount, and I never get it...I don't even remember if I have ever got a crosschoke from mount...:(

Also, I hope your fiance or someone takes a camera to England and takes a picture of your face the exact moment you meet Roger...it would be epic. lol@!

pictures-of-happy-face1.jpg

when i rewatched this, i noticed I was going to catch a little heat for my darce analogy in the shoulder pressuring portion. I didnt explain it well. All i meant was that you shoot your arm through before you grab the armpit...kinda like the same sensation when you shoot the arm through then grab your bicep on the darce.

hey i enjoy your videos - curious what was the inspiration you just watched Roger dominate and you were like let me study the crap outta this guy - i've been watching a bit of him - he does teh same half guard passes - also the folding guard pass (or wahtever peopel call it) and an x style pass with butterfly