Remeber your first time sparring?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Bennosuke, Oct 15, 2010.

1. Bennosuke

Bennosuke Blue Belt

I just had a very hard sparring session and it reminded me of when I started sparring. To make myself feel better I figured I would start a thread allowing us to reminisce about our first couple sparring experiences

To share mine, I started practicing Kyokushin Karate and the first day we started sparring, we cycled through partners doing one or two minute rounds. At first I was up against other beginners and I was surprised by how easily I was picking people apart (not to brag). Eventually I went up against a guy who had (I later found out), failed his black belt test, and was not happy about it. He muscled me around like a rag doll. I took hard body shots and leg shots. I was unable to land a single punch and I walked away with a terrible terrible bruise on my leg. He also push kicked me so hard in the face my neck hurt for a few days.

He was an ass but it definetly humbled me

2. THAIBOXINJUNKIE

THAIBOXINJUNKIE Blue Belt

nope but i remeber my first wrestling match

3. chabone

chabone Tastes Like Burning Platinum Member

I've trained a little kickboxing. I have yet to spar. Still need shin pads. I'm sure I'll be scared shitless at first.

4. D4rthKitty

D4rthKitty Black Belt

So do I

won 4 to 1

5. Robschach13

Robschach13 Green Belt