Random Questions,

BJJ

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Well, since i have some free time because my girlfriend is working (yes i am pussy whipped), i have a bunch of random questions and probably will keep updating this thread periodically. So, ya, random questions.

Ill give you some background info.

Weight 205 5' 9"
Age 21
Lifts:
BP 305
Deadlift 470x2
Squat 340x3, i have done like 355x2 or something but i just did legs today and thats what i ended with. Oh, and yes, that is pussy weight.

Lifting on and off since i was 15. Took a year off in 2004 because of my girlfriend. But now i am back for good, hopefully. I have followed a bodybuilding type routine for the whole time. slightly modified.

Short-term goals: (4 months)
Bp; 320-330
Deadlift: 525
Squat 450 ya, i know, big jump.

Now to my random questions.

My weakpoint while deadlifting is the top half. Should i start doing rack pulls? i have never done them before and if so, what pin should i start it on, the second? Also, should i do both, deadlifts and rackpulls on the same day or just one?

Squats; i have a little more than shoulders width stance, does having a wide stance make it any easier getting low?

Board Presses, never done these easier, i have done rack lockouts before. Which one is more effective? Also, what type of 'boards' do you use? a couple cut 2x4s?

Gripping the bar- While i bench, for the longest time, i kind of just let the bar lay on my palms, if you understand that. I dont do the conventional thumb wrapped around the bar. I have been doing the thumb around the bar for the last 2 weeks i believe and it seems i am 'weaker' when i hold the bar like that. Does it really matter or should i start training with the thumb around?

My routine now. I drift away from it time to time and do more reps.

For Chest:
Day 1
BP
4 sets- 8,6,4,2
Incline 4 sets, 8.6.4.2
Decline 4 sets- 8.6.4.2
DB Flies same^

Bicepts- All 4 sets^
Straight Bar
WG
CG
Hammer Curls
Day 2
Back
Deads 4 sets
T Bar Rows
Lat Pulldown