Question from MMA fan

Godinski

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I have limited knowledge about boxing but I have huge respect for the sport.

I would like to ask is there weight cutting before the fights in amateur boxing like in MMA.
If I got it right the LHW is max 91 kg as class and for example is it the same situation that the fighters are cutting weight before the fight and entering in the fight bigger like in MMA? Also I would appreciate some experience with names of the boxers so I could search later in net.
I'm speaking about amateur boxing (Olympic) only not pro.
Thanks for the answers.

weight cutting does take place. Usually not the drastic cuts you see in mma due to more weight classes with less weight between them. I forget who it was that was fighting but merchant was surprised that he weighed in 17 pounds heavier on fight night than weigh in the day before. In MMA that is about normal large weight cuts can almost double that.

Chavez JR is probably who you're thinking of.

There is weight cutting in amateur boxing but not on the same level that either amateur MMA or wrestling use it. Many amateur tournaments require same-day weigh in and sometimes multiple bouts; if you're trying to cut 15lbs, rehydrate, box and then cut 15lbs again you're going to be in trouble.

British boxing has had a few amateur weight issues in recent years. Coming into the 2012 games Andrew Selby and past-Olympian Khalid Yafai both had satisfied the qualifying criteria but boxed in the same weightclass. A best of three "box-off" was organised. Selby won the first but Yafai couldn't make weight for the second, giving Selby a 2-0 win in the series. I can't remember the exact stats for what Khalid Yafai started his cut at but it was the sort of figure that is generally considered at best "normal" in top level MMA and most likely on the small side.

Likewise, Frankie Gavin (a former amateur world champ) had to withdraw from the 2008 Olympics as he couldn't make weight.