Question for American Lawyers Practicing in Litigation

Law Talkin’ Guy

The Worm
@Gold
Reaction score
I am currently sitting in the waiting room of a doctor's office (walk in clinic) and am pretty bored, so I thought I'd make a thread because I'm bored where I would reach out to any American lawyers who post in the Mayberry. I'm a lawyer up in Alberta, Canada and I practice primarily in the areas of family law and civil litigation.

What I've always wanted to know is why damages (particularly punitive damages) are so wildly out of control in the US in litigation matters. Now, I don't know if there's in fact any air of reality, but I frequently watch lawyer TV shows like the Good Wife or Suits and in any litigation matter they deal with they always throw around punitive damage numbers in the millions of tens of millions. Is that even remotely accurate?

In Canada, punitive damages are extremely rarely awarded, and when they are, they'll maybe be in an amount of like $50,000 to $75,000 or something like that. But I watch an episode of Good Wife and someone threatens to sue the protagonist for say professional negligence and they start talking like $3 million in punitive damages.