1. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

Question about how judging works

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Gregolian, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Gregolian .45 ACP Platinum Member

I am very new to this but I was wondering if someone could explain to me how Maia won his match at ADCC 2007 against Okami. Here is the vid of it:

Just curious is all.

2. Nathan LaMontagne Amateur Fighter

I'm pretty sure they don't score the first however many minutes.

3. lechien Gold Belt

no points for the first 5 minutes

4. Bebop Brown Belt

how come they don't score for the first 5 minutes?

5. From my understanding, it encourages the fighters to push the pace early on by allowing them to go for more submission attempts without the worry of becoming behind on points from losing positions.

6. Gregolian .45 ACP Platinum Member

Just was wondering since it was based on the judges what was it that Maia did better that allowed him to win? Cause Okami does pass, forces a scramble, takes his back and is working for a RNC. Maia had the Armbar attempt and kept him in his guard for the rest of the match. Was that the deciding factor? The fact that he kept Okami in his guard?

7. codemonkey76 Black Belt

found this:
    Tournament ADCC Rules | Munduruca BJJ

"Advanced – 8 minutes rounds – Points not awarded in the first 4 minutes."
    "The Points System:

TAKE DOWNS: 2 points

Any kind of knocking down of the opponent on his back side, (if the opponent lands on his front side or on all fours rather than the backside, no points will be awarded).

PASSING THE GUARD: 3 points

Is when the athlete that is above his adversary or in between his legs, moves to his opponent’s side, establishing a perpendicular or longitudinal position over his adversary’s trunk, dominating him and leaving him no space to move or to escape the position. The athlete must demonstrate clear control to score.

KNEE ON THE BELLY: 2 points