Question about gi vs. no-gi

mammothreis

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Sorry I'm a bit of a noob. Not sure if this is the right section or not either. What are the advantages of training no-gi vs. gi? I really want to get into gi but I can't make the earlier class at my gym so I have to go to no-gi classes. Would it be inappropriate to wear a gi during this class? Also, in general what are the advantages of no-gi? I feel as though it just makes more sense to train gi, but again that's an uneducated opinion. Thanks in advance for any info

Use the search function first. This subject is done about every other week.

Do whatever class you can and where whatever everyone else is wearing.

If you can make both do both.

If you can make both but only like one, stick to what you prefer.

It all comes down to preference and goals but there's enough overlap in both so you can become a good grappler which ever you do as long as the coach is sokid.

Gi brutalizes your hands. I like no-gi because my knuckles don't hurt like hell after class.

No-Gi is better for defending against Guido's because they take their shirts off. You can't pull off a cheap collar choke on a shirtless Guido.

If you want to learn the whole art and invest a considerable amount of time achieving rank then go gi. If you want to be more self defense/mma oriented then go no-gi.

If you want to learn the whole art and invest a considerable amount of time achieving rank then go gi. If you want to be more self defense/mma oriented then go no-gi.

gi is also good for self defense. people wear shirts/jackets and pants.

You should do both, because the two formats sharpen different skill sets.