Pushin' and Pullin' and Cleanin' and Jerkin'

CosmicOsmo

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Alright, as some of you might recall, I've kinda decided on a whim to enter a Bench/Dead competition...I've got about 9 weeks to prepare. I've never really competed in anything like this and I don't plan on making a profession out of it or anything, but it should be fun. Anyway, I've decided to start this log to document my preparation leading up to the competition. My main goal is to increase my bench press to something remotely respectable while maintaining or slightly improving my deadlift.

Current stats:

Bench: 230
Deadlift: 455
Squat: 305 ATG oly style
Clean: 235

@5'10", 166lbs, fully clothed

Goals for competition (July 12th)

Bench: 260
Deadlift: 465

@BW 170lbs (in just shorts). I'm planning on competing in the 165lbs division so this should give me an easy 5lbs cut (I'm not too experienced with cutting weight so I don't want to go crazy with it).

I'm planning on following a bench program recommended in a Ryan Kennelly interview, which basically consists of lots of triples, starting at about 45% of your max and increasing until you hit a new 3 rep max with your old 1 rep max, plus lots of pin presses, skull crushers etc. as assistance work. I'm going to try to keep working with my olympic lifting so I don't get rusty during this brief powerlifting stint.

Anyway, today was the first day of my preparation.

All exercises are listed Lbs, SetsxReps

Bench--105lbs 8x3 (45% of 1rm)

A few sets of split jerks, light weight focusing on form and speed

Pin Press--215lbs 5x5 (about 4-5" off chest)

Skull Crushers--100lbs 3x5

Incline DB press (wide)--60lbs 3x8

Lateral raises--45lbs 3x8

Everything felt good, this is my first time doing pin presses (or any partial bench work) and it felt like it will really help me through my sticking points...I've seriously neglected bench for a long time and hopefully I'll make some progress with it.

Get these the fuck outta here.