Punch Bag buying advice...

millasur

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Punch bag help / advice please. It's s tarnge how i can't really find any thing online about regarding bag reviews etc considerin the amount of peopel that own them.

Ran a search, didn't find much.

Anyone in the UK with some good punchbag experience to share? I have a home stand, and need a bag for it.

I'm thinkin quality over price to be honest, but it pains me to spend that ikinda money on a bag. This is the best one I've seen...

http://www.fightshop.com/product.asp?category_id=7&product_id=502

Alternatively, this is cheaper but I can't help thinkin that this brand is just like a BBE type cheap and cheerful brand.

http://www.sugarrays.co.uk/shop/Pro-Box-Club-Vinyl-Punchbag.-p-2237.html

Any opinions? I'm interested in quality and obv there's no point getting a cheaper one if it brreaks, but on the other hand I'm not putting it in a club, and I'm not a pro fighter who trains for hours every day... How bad quality REALLY are the cheaper ones lol. (a friend said he had problem with cheaper bags in a local gym (weights gym not mma gym) because the chain straps (holding the bag to the chains) kept breaking.

Thanks

Heavy bags are kind of strange to buy. If I were you I would try to find a place where you can personally look and feel the heavy bag. Some heavy bags look great but then you hit them and you manage to hit right on an internal sandbag or something like that.

So if you can find a place and check them out yourself. Make sure there are no sand bags floating around that will break your wrist. Most bags are fairly sturdy. Make sure whichever one you get has a suitable hanging system for your space.

Out of those 2 I would obviously go with the windy. Shipping is going to be a bitch if it is filled. Sometimes the heavy bags are not pre-filled so make sure you get what you want.

thanks for the reply...